Do you think this is a scam? Please help. Postings...
Report a member

First topic / < Previous topic / Next topic> / Last topic

Sadie Ann

At 20:28:48 on 26.10.11, Sadie Ann wrote:
I found a horse ad that seems wonderful and says that a Friesian gelding is $800 in Buffalo, NY. I emailed the seller and asked why he was so low and this reply was what I got: "Hello and thanks for your interest in my horse.I am giving out my Baby to a new home.He is Called Faith,has a very calm temperament.He is 7 years old,16.3 hh in height and 1300 lbs in weight.I have had him for all these years now and he is well trained,and presently very healthy as he is constantly vet checked. He is very good for a ride as he is very healthy,rides western and English,young and active. has also been trained to do trail.He is broke for intermediate or beginner but also for advance riders,You will be getting the best companion you can ever desire.He is good in the saddle.he is good with kids and other domestic animals and horses. I had a car accident in which i was hurt badly on my legs.So i am on a wheel chair.I might not be able to ride my horse again.It is for this reason that i am looking for a lovely and caring home for my boy,i wont ask you to pay a price for him,but what i really want a lovely home guaranteed for him.If you can assure me that he will be well loved and taken care of,then i will let you have him.My Family and I just moved into a new home in Richmond VA which is not convenient for him.I moved there with my family after the accident,so you will be paying just for the adoption and delivery fee to your location. If i had a way of keeping him i will,but i have no option than give him to a new Home. The money is not really my prime object,but i just want the horse get a new home. I don`t know if you may need the saddle and the other equipment because i wont have use for it anymore since i wont have a horse. Where Exactly are you located? How soon do you want the horse? I will be waiting to read from you and Attached to this email are pics of him.Hope You will love them.." It seems like this writer is not very familiar with the English language AND she mentions living in a different state then previously advertised. What do you all think? I would really appreciate your help.

 

FlyingChange

At 03:45:54 on 27.10.11, FlyingChange wrote:
Yeah I would definately be sceptical , maybe have a read of this article! http://www.horsetalk.co.nz/features/horsesalescams-171.shtml Here are some clues that it may be a scam. 1 - The deal being offered is unbelievably good. 2 - Their English is poor, suggesting the scam may have originated from Africa, which is a hotbed of such deception. This is not always the case, however, so be careful. 3 - If their email address is a free account, such as hotmail. Yes, millions of people legitimately use such free accounts. However, if you sense something amiss in a deal, the use of such email accounts should lift your suspicion levels a notch or two higher. 4 - If they phone you up, you notice by the metallic sound of the call that they're probably using an internet-based phone service out of Africa. The call will be costing them virtually nothing. 5 - If you ask them some questions, there's a pretty good chance they won't know much about horses.

 

JessAndGrenville123

At 22:22:24 on 27.10.11, JessAndGrenville123 wrote:
I wouldn't judge before seeing, it sounds too good to be true but they may be telling the truth, i would go see the horse, have it 5* vetted before making any decisions

 

bee20

At 21:54:59 on 02.11.11, bee20 wrote:
Could certainly be a scam, treat with caution. Never pay any money up front. If after seeing the horse, arrange your own transport and only pay the adoption fee upon exchange of the horse. Don't buy unless they have papers and can show proof of ownership. Better to be safe than sorry.

 

kibby

At 07:23:00 on 03.11.11, kibby wrote:
Yep. There was something like this but with dogs a little while back. Well bred dogs going for cheap to nothing. The Seller saying that they just had to move them on quickly. You just had to pay the freight for the "imaginary" dog that never turned up and the seller pockets the money. It may not be but I would want to pick the horse up in person.

 

NMH

At 21:03:36 on 03.11.11, NMH wrote:
Has Scam written all over it I think. Once you pay anything they can access your bank details... don't touch with a barge pole!!

 


Join this group to add a posting message


Members Login:

Email:

Password:

Forgotten your password?

Remember me

Sign up to be a Trot ON member